Solicitation by Domain Name Registrar in Asia
Have you ever received a letter such as the following:
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. There is something we need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on March 26, 2008, from a company which self-styled "Halliton Holdings, Inc" is applying to register "smrh" as internet brand and CN domain names as below:[Name redacted]
smrh.com.tw smrh.hk
smrh.net.cn
smrh.org.cn
smrh.tw
smrh.asia
After our initial examination we found that the internet brands applied for registration are the same as your company’s name and trademark. We are now investigating this matter and hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these, please contact us as soon as possible.
In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit for dissent application is ten days. If your company files no dissent within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "Halliton Holdings, Inc.".
Best Regards
What is that all about?
Continue Reading...